Abortion is healthcare

Teens & Abortion

For teens seeking abortion care, it is crucial to understand the options, legal requirements, and support systems available. We provide a safe, confidential, and non-judgmental environment to ensure you receive the care and information you need.

Discover one of the most trusted and widely practiced procedures for abortion care in the United States. At our facilities in Florida, Virginia and North Carolina, we prioritize your safety and well-being throughout the process.

A Woman's Choice Teen Abortion Care

Are You a Minor?

We are here to help! If you are a minor in need of assistance with the judicial bypass process, please text us.
(844) 997-2229

Understanding Teen Abortion Care

Frequently Asked Questions About Teens and Abortions

Yes, however, if you are under 18 years old state laws in Florida, North Carolina, and Virginia require you to get permission from one parent or legal guardian OR you can seek a Judicial Bypass from a local judge. We are here to help you navigate the laws.

Absolutely! For talking to your parents or trusted folks about your pregnancy, we recommend any or all of the following resources:

Call us at 800-298-8874 to speak to one of our patient navigators about your options.

Visit Jane’s Due Process blog post about talking to parents about your pregnancy.

You can speak to a counselor about all of your pregnancy options at Just Choice, which provides pregnancy support and adoption options, call 866-989-1466.

Pregnancy Options Workbook online offers guidance for you and your parents having this conversation.

No, you do not have to pay money for a judicial bypass. There is no cost to you.

Yes, you can. While we encourage minors, who are able and comfortable speaking to their parents about their pregnancy and decision to have an abortion to do so, we know that this is not always possible. You have the right to timely and confidential judicial bypass.

Parental consent to get abortion care is NOT required if:

  1. there is a medical emergency (certified by an attending physician) and there is insufficient time to obtain consent;
  2. a court has emancipated you;
  3. you have a minor child dependent upon you; or
  4. you are or have been, married.

If you are exempt from parental notification, the following document(s) will be required at the clinic:

  1. a state-issued marriage license or divorce certificate, if you are married or divorced;
  2. the child's birth certificate, if you have a dependent child;
  3. court order, if emancipated.

In Florida, if you are under 18 years old parental consent is a state law that requires you to have written permission from either a parent or legal guardian, for you to have an abortion. This permission must be notarized. This means that your parent or legal guardian has to complete paperwork that says they know and consent to your abortion procedure. This statement must be signed and stamped by a notary public (our clinic can help you with this). Your parent or legal guardian must attach one form of government-issued identification to the notarized document. [3]

If you are under 18 years old, in North Carolina, parental consent is a state law that requires you to have written permission from either a parent or legal guardian, for you to have an abortion. [4]

In Virginia, if you are under 18 years old, parental consent is a state law that requires you to have written permission from either a parent or legal guardian, for you to have an abortion. This permission must be notarized. This means that your parent or legal guardian has to complete paperwork that says they know and consent to your abortion procedure. This statement must be signed and stamped by a notary public (our clinic can help you with this). Your parent or legal guardian must attach one form of government-issued identification to the notarized document.

If you are under 18 years old, you can meet privately with a judge who may grant permission for the abortion without telling your parent or legal guardian. This process is called a judicial bypass or judicial waiver.

If you live in Florida and would like to read more information about the judicial bypass process, please visit teenabortionflorida.com

If you are receiving care in North Carolina and would like to read more information about the judicial bypass process, please visit carolinaabortionfund.org

If you are receiving care in Virginia and would like to read more information about parental involvement and the judicial bypass, please visit reprolegalhelpline.org

No, however, we strongly recommend one to help you navigate the process. Please note that you have the right to request a court-appointed lawyer, at no cost, to guide you through the process and accompany you to the hearing.

Our clinic can connect you with an attorney to represent you free of charge. Please call and speak to a patient navigator at 800-298-8874.

In Florida, you contact The Jane Network at [email protected] for help.

If you’re seeking care in North Carolina and would like to be connected, confidentially, with a trusted adult or lawyer to help you navigate the process, text ABBY at 844-997-2229.

[1] Fla. Stat. § 390.01114. July 1, 2020. Fla. SB 404, § 6 (2020); Fla. SB 406, § 3 (2020).
[2] Va. Code Ann. § 16.1-241.(Amend and Reenacted 2021).
[3] Fla. Stat. § 390.01114. July 1, 2020. Fla. SB 404, § 6 (2020); Fla. SB 406, § 3 (2020).
[4] N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 90-21.6 (Enacted 1995; Last Amended 1998), 90-21.7 (Enacted 1995), 90-21.8 (Enacted 1995; Last Amended 2000). 

Service Locations

Our Care Extends Across These Clinics and Surrounding Areas

Charlotte, NC

(704) 367-2255

Jacksonville, FL

(904) 448-8877

Greensboro, NC

(336) 273-9485

Raleigh, NC

(919) 781-6811

Danville, VA

(434) 218-1032

Financial help is available.

We understand the financial barriers that many pregnant people face when deciding to end a pregnancy. We will work with those who are eligible to provide financial assistance. We have trained funding assistants and patient navigators to support you.

We Are Here For You!

Has your state banned or restricted abortion?

If you are traveling to our clinics from a state that has banned abortion then there may be additional financial support available to you. This is subject to change but may apply if you are from the following states: Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, or Wisconsin.

Florida state law imposes several restrictions on abortion, including a patient must receive state-mandated information from a doctor at least 24 hours before an abortion. The counseling must be provided in person requiring at least two separate trips to our facility. We provide abortion care up to 6 weeks of pregnancy.

To comply with the state law, patients will be required to receive state-mandated information and consent in person 72 hours before an abortion. State law requires at least two separate trips to our facility. We can provide abortion care through 12 weeks of pregnancy.

There are NO waiting period for abortion care. Make your appointment now. State law does require minors to notify and obtain parental consent (see our Teens & Abortion page for details).

A Woman's Choice Abortion Services

We know that choosing abortion is a thoughtful decision.

A Woman’s Choice offers a compassionate, non-judgmental environment for our patients. We are woman-owned and woman-operated and proud to offer you the best care in our communities. We welcome patients from all state which includes, but are not limited to: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and West Virginia.